About Rootead

Rootead is a 501(c)3 organization founded in 2015, in Kalamazoo, Michigan.

Our Offerings

As an organization, our goal is to draw awareness to the narratives held internally (within the body) but expressed externally across the greater Kalamazoo community. We deliver our services through a decolonized, decentralized, trauma informed and indigenized lens that reflects the unique cultural heritage and experiences of multicultural, LGBTQIA+ and BIPOC living in the greater Kalamazoo community. In order to disrupt systems and structures of oppression the paradigm of surviving must shift to thriving. In order to reduce black/BIPOC oppression, we need spaces that reduce stress and invite healing. Therefore we achieve our goal and mission through our Enrichment Center, which offers movement classes, workshops in cultural humility, yoga, meditation, doula/perinatal services, in addition to facilitating a youth dance and drum collective. As an organization we have offered culturally relevant dance, healing arts and somatic awareness to our community for over 5 years.

Our Values & More

Our Core Values: Self-accountability, connection, love, honesty, perseverance, commitment to justice, courage

Our Why: Oppression is created by colonization: none of us are free if we all aren’t free; nothing for us without us

Our influences: Afro-futurism, Anatomy, Holistic Health, Intergenerational Interaction, Emergent Strategy, Transformative Justice, and Somatics/Movement

Our Staff

Headshot of Kama

Kama Mitchell

Founder and CEO

kama@rootead.org

Headshot of Dominic

Dominic Mitchell

Chief Financial Officer

dominic@rootead.org

Headshot of Amari

Amari Fisher

Website and Data Specialist

amari@rootead.org

Kama Mitchell

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Suspendisse varius enim in eros elementum tristique.

Headshot of Elan

Élan Bridges

Director of Red Birth Green

elan@rootead.org

Headshot of Erica

Erica Dixon

Community Resource Specialist

erica@rootead.org

Headshot of Lilly

Lilly Henley

Studio Manager

lilly@rootead.org

Headshot of CoCo

CoCo Marie

Radicle Coordinator

coco@rootead.org

Headshot of Tia

Tia Davis

Office Manager

tia@rootead.org

Our Board